top of page

Daluxolo Xusha lands a TV role on SABC 2

We had an honor of sitting down with Daluxolo Xusha who recently landed a role in an upcoming drama series on SABC2, and this is what he had to say.

I had an honor of sitting down with Daluxolo Xusha, a CPUT graduate who recently landed a role in an upcoming drama series on SABC2, and this is what he had to say.

Q: If you were to introduce yourself to a 10 year old, who would you say Daluxolo is?

A: My name is Daluxolo Xusha, a father, a son, a friend to many. I’m a CPUT graduate, did Consumer Science: Food and Nutrition, funny thing is I have strong passion for acting which is a total opposite of what I studied for. From an early age I have always had a strong interest in art, and have been involved with it in some form all through my life. In year 6 when I was doing Grade 1, I started joining acting society in school and I never looked back, I realized that it was something that I might like to pursue as a career. I was privileged to serve as a Chairperson of CPUT Arts and Drama society and that allowed me to grow as a person and also boosted my emotional intelligence, it was not easy working with different people with different personalities, but I always managed to bring everyone into a common understanding why we started the society from the first place.

Q: The one thing I'd like to start off with is the fact that you have had an interesting career in theater, what made you decide to shift to TV screens?

A: Theater stays to be my first love but I'm open to any kind of acting as an Artist. I also wanted to get the feeling of acting for film as it is different from theater. Tv /Film is also a bigger platform where you can get easily recognized by big producers and directors as viewers are a lot more than that of theater so this is also a way of showcasing my in the industry.

Q: If I still recall correctly; you played a main character on the play that went to National Arts Festival; where you were the young boy that loved soccer but trapped in the criminal life which lead to your death before you could make it as a professional player, these are real life stories. How much did you connect to this character and what can you sa to fellow youngsters that face the similar issues on a daily basis?

A: I don't know if I can call it a coincidence but when I got casted for this role I had recently lost my cousin brother (Siphuxolo) who happened to be a promising soccer player but was trapped in the criminal life. Unfortunately he died before he could explore his world of soccer when he got attacked by his enemies in the criminal world. So I connected on a personal level on this play because whenever I got into character I would think of him. I remember the second Show we did in the Grahamstown Festival I got so emotional at a scene where I was stabbed and left alone to die, at that moment all I could think about was Siphuxolo; because he was also stabbed and left alone before his girlfriend arrived in which he died in her hands. On the play I also get stabbed and left alone and I try to reach for people but no one is coming for me until my mother arrives and I die in her hands. At that moment all I could think about was how he felt at that moment crying for help and bleeding but no one came into his rescue. So the play for me was very personal. To young men that are in such life, all I can say is it doesn't end well. Personally I used to be in the gangster group back in school, but it was nothing serious, I joined them because when you are in it, you get the respect from friends and girls. I've lost too many friends in that life and if I hadn't stopped, I don’t think I would be alive. So as much as that life is tempting, but the only results that comes from it are no good. Everyone who thinks that is life should just leave it while they still can.

Q: When you did a lot of theater.... you had a chance to play a lot of lead characters. How does it feel to be a supporting cast on your new TV series?

A: I love this Question - My mentor Thami Mbongo has taught me a lot about Acting. One of the things he taught me is that I don't have small acting and big acting, no matter how big or small the character, as a performer, you just need to give your best and do justice to the role. I also do not have R5 Acting and R10 acting, acting is acting for me - Support or Lead it just means I have to deliver what's expected of me and that is doing justice to the character I'm playing. Playing a support character has been powerful for me because this meant I have the power to make the best of out this character and level it to other levels that even the director or producer didn't expect. I had to dig deep into this character to make sure I explore everything about it. Basically it’s like being given a small role but when people watch your show they end up talking about the character that had a small role. Now that means I've done justice to the character.

Q: You have had input on the production of the plays you have been involved in, are you involved in the production of the television show beyond your role?

A: Normally I'm always on the directing side on every theater show I do. I strongly believe I do have an eye for direction. On this production, I didn't have much input on the production itself but working with Siyethemba (Director) allowed me to have input in my character. The first time I met the director; instead of giving me instructions, he said to me "Ola Dalu, how do you want to play this Character of Zakes? ", it was amazing to work with such people because not only they trusted me, they also gave me freedom to choose how I want to play my character and that helped me because it opened a room of flexibility and versatility for me as an actor. Every morning when I got on set, I would sit him down and tell him how I understand my scenes and how I think we should play it out and everyday he would say let's do it like that and everything would go well. So the input I had was to do with my character and that's one of the highlights working with Siye.

Q: Let's go back to your theater days for a little bit. When you got the role on “The Spirit of Shakespeare in Africa” which also made it on national Arts Festival....when you audition for the role, how did you prepare for it because everyone wanted to be a lead character because of the richness of the storyline? Also, how is your relationship with your father in real life? Are there any similarities on the play that you did and in your real life?

A: What helped me a lot to prepare for auditions in this play was the storyline was about my mentor (His Life) so I already knew some parts of the story and how he would want it to be portrayed hence it was easy for me to play it. My relationship with my father is great. I think the play also made me realize the importance of the relationship with my father and how important it is to keep it healthy. I this one line from the play which says "You can see a father through his son's actions. A son is the mirror of the father"

Q: On your new series The Signal, did you originally audition for that particular Zakes role, because I know based on your record, you’ve always done leading characters.

A: Yes I auditioned for the role of Zakes. I got the Audition Slot from my Agent Onke Talent who sent me the Audition Script for Zakes. I didn't even know if it was a main or supporting role. I only got to know about it when I was told that I got the role. Given the chance I would have auditioned for any other role.

Q: What is Signal High all about?

A: Signal high is a teen drama set in a Cape Town Model C School, which has LSM Group 5-8. The population is diverse and generally, the students conform to school rules and regulations. The School has lived more than twenty years and very little change has occurred. A school with a relatively high pass rate and goes out of its way to maintain it.

Q: How much of Zakes is you, or vice versa.

A: Zakes is 80% of how I was back in High school. He is on cool vibes with everyone around school and they don't call him "Zakes WeGenge" for nothing lol… but there is only 1 difference between myself and the character which we will explore on Signal High.

Q: How much of an adjustment was it for you to go from Daluxolo to Zakes the high school boy role?

A: It didn't take much energy or work from me because the character is very similar to what I was back in high school. I also spent my lunch times on set with the High school learners from the school we were shooting at; so I could understand the high school language they speak nowadays and also get in character easily and it worked well.

Q: How long is the series going to be on our TV screens and when does it play?

A: The series consists of 13 episodes and it will be on out screen for 13 weeks starting from the 29th of June at 17:00 on SABC 2.

Q: Where do you see this particular character taking you? Do you anticipate that the show you're doing now could conceivably run longer and Zakes develops into one of the leading characters?

A: I think this is my door into the TV/Film industry as it is my first Big job for TV/Film. I do think there will be another season for it as the audience will enjoy it and my character can be grown as I have also explained to the producers and directors that we can explore more of the Character of Zakes.

Q: Now let’s come back to Daluxolo as a graduate, tell us about that and your plans with your qualification?

A: Hahah yeah nhe, me and my Qualification.

Well I believe one day I will use it, it is always very good to have a fall back plan as we know things don’t always go as planned in life. One day I will decide to go back to the profession I studied for but for now I'm focusing on what I LOVE, my craft, which is acting. Being an artist, it frees my soul.

Q: One of the things that also gets your name in the news is the fact that you are involved or have been involved in several causes and organizations and have been very outspoken in certain regards to some things, you’re very passionate about social issues and always on the forefront when people need help, can you tell us about that? Where and how did you gain passion for people?

A: I've always been a person who loves helping. I love seeing people happy because of me. For me, if everyone could be happy then I would be happy. My parents has always been a helping hand to everyone and I think it also comes from being raised like that. I also love environment, and believe into taking of it. My love for the environment is what it does for us. When my children ask me one day if I did everything I could to save the world, I need to be able to say Yes.

Q: Any last words to aspiring actors?

A: Young aspiring Actors need to keep their heads up and keep on pushing. This industry is not easy and it is very complicated. They must not be dragged to the negatives things of it but must keep on learning and pushing hard.

Q: What are your social media handles?

A: Instagram - Dxusha , Facebook - Daluxolo Xusha , Twitter - @Dxusha

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page